Shabbat shalom from Jerusalem

We have finally arrived to Jerusalem, one of my favorite places in the entire world. There is nothing more amazing than walking up to the Old City with hundreds of people from all walks of life, Jewish and non-Jewish.

If you know me, you know I love being in big cities full of people and life. I often get so caught up in daily life and I am really bad at staying in the present. I am always thinking about what comes next. In Israel, however, I find myself only focusing on the present. I know people in Israel have such difficult lives and have major daily struggles that no one could imagine, but it seems like many of the people here don’t care what happened yesterday or what may happen next. The present is the only thing on their mind.

I was nervous about being placed in Jerusalem for my internship. I was worried what I would do in a city that shuts down on Friday nights through Saturday night to observe the Sabbath. But, this first Shabbat here reminded me how important it is to take time to just relax and enjoy the day spent in beautiful Jerusalem. There is no need to worry about yesterday and no need to worry about tomorrow.

This city reminds me to just sit back and appreciate what is right in front of me and the people around me. It is almost like my senses are heightened to my surroundings. I love it here. I love the different people that make this city so great.

I struggle with understanding the very observant people in this place, but I have come to just accept them and their way and try to remind myself that we should all be able to coexist and spend Shabbat the way we want to.

I am currently sitting in a park in the middle of an orthodox neighborhood watching all the orthodox children run around in 80 degree weather with long sleeve shirts and pants. They are adorable and I want to take them all back to the states.

I love it here and cannot wait for the rest of the summer.

One thought on “Shabbat shalom from Jerusalem

  1. I remember when I lived in Israel how special the Shabbat was. It was great being “forced” to relax and take time out from one’s hectic daily life; to separate the everyday trials and tribulations from the peaceful aura of Shabbat. Especially since the country observes it !! Stores close, people spend time with family and friends. I am so glad you are feeling it too Anna. And next Shabbat we will be together in Israel !!!

Leave a Reply

